Tinubu renames 15 airports in honour of Buhari, Okadigbo, Akintola, Awolowo, others


Some airports owned by the federal government have had their names changed to honor eminent Nigerians by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

This information can be found in a memo from the Federal Ministry of Aviation that is dated June 1, 2023, and is signed by Joke Olatunji, Director of Airport Operations.

According to the announcement, the President renamed the airports as part of aviation sector reforms.

Former president Muhammadu Buhari was honoured at the airport in Maiduguri, Obafemi Awolowo was honoured at the airport in Port Harcourt, and Usman Dan Fodio, the late founder of the Sokoto Caliphate, was honoured at the airport in Nasarawa.

Read Also:  I Pray Before Performing On Stage – Davido

Also, the Airport in Benin was renamed after the late Oba of Benin, Oba Akenzua II, Ebonyi Airport after the late Senate President Chuba Okadigbo, and the Ibadan Airport after the late Premier of the old Western Region, Ladoke Akintola.

Below is the full list of renamed airports:

1. Akure Airport – Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu
2. Benin Airport – Oba Akenzua II
3. Dutse Airport – Muhammad Nuhu Sanusi
4. Ebonyi Airport – Chuba Wilberforce Okadigbo
5. Gombe Airport – Brigadier Zakari Maimalari
6. Ibadan Airport – Samuel Ladoke Akintola
7. Ilorin Airport – Gen. Tunde Idiagbon
8. Kaduna Airport – Hassan Usman Katsina
9. Maiduguri Airport – Gen. Mumammadu Buhari
10. Makurdi Airport – Joseph Sarwuan Tarka
11. Minna Airpor – Mallam Abubakar Imam
12. Nassarawa Airport – Sheikh Usman Dan Fodio
13. Osubi Airport – Alfred Diete Spiff
14. Port Harcourt Airport – Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo
15. Yola Airport – Lamido Aliyu Mustapha

Leave a Reply